Our People


Chief Officer

Brenda TurnballBrenda Turnbull
Brenda has worked in property development in both the public and private sectors and in urban and rural regeneration for many years. With a keen interest in community planning she has steered the Trust towards the development of a more community focused delivery of the programme to reopen the Lagan Navigation.
Project Support Officer
Heather Lawless
Having studied Law and Accountancy at the University of Brighton Heather settled back in Northern Ireland.  Whilst taking a career break to raise her young family, Heather took up a number of local volunteer roles and believes in giving back to the community. She is married with a son and a daughter.  Heather enjoys taking part in charity events and has recently abseiled off the Europa Hotel and raised £1000 for Autism NI.

The Board

The Board membership represents a wide range of interests, from local residents and Lagan Navigation users to those with a business in the Trust Operational Area.


Observers on the Board:

•Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council
• Lisburn and Castlereagh City Council
• Belfast Council

The Chair

Brian Cassells OBE
Brian Cassells has been a member of the Inland Waterways Association of Ireland for 25 years and is a past President. The retired Headmaster co-coordinated the Northern Ireland Branches of IWAI for the last 15 years and served as Chairman of the Lough Erne branch for a similar period. As an avid local historian and waterway enthusiast, Brian has researched and written widely on the inland navigations of Northern Ireland and on other aspects of local history.

The Vice Chair

Lady Daphne Trimble
Lady Trimble has served a member of the Equality Commission for Northern Ireland and the Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission.  As well as a passion for politics, Lord and Lady Trimble share a passion for Waterways and they are the proud owners of a 60ft narrow boat and love nothing better than a few days steering it along the English waterways.  Lady Trimble has 4 children, two sons and two daughters.



  • Brian Cassells OBE
  • Lady Daphne Trimble
  • Mike Clarke
  • Sara Duncan
  • Joe Nelson
  • Dominic Lavery
  • Erskine Holmes OBE
  • Professor Alan Woodside
  • Colin McClintock
  • Jim Henning
  • Cllr Geraldine McAteer
  • Cllr David Drysdale